John Kresse, College of Charleston

Men's Basketball Head Coach


One of the most decorated coaches in ASUN history, John Kresse collected three Coach of the Year nods to go along with five-straight regular-season titles from 1993-98. During his time in the ASUN, Kresse's Cougar squads combined for a 74-6 conference record including an undefeated mark of 16-0 in 1997. Overall, College of Charleston recorded a 125-23 mark, which sits as the highest winning percentage for any team in league history.

During his time, Kresse excelled as he guided the Cougars in their transition from NAIA to Division I as his team earned back-to-back ASUN Championship titles in 1997 & 1998. The Cougars made three NCAA Tournament appearances under Kresse starting in 1994 with an at-large bid as the Cougars earned a No. 12 seed and posted a 24-4 overall record as Charleston was ineligible for the ASUN Championship. The following two seasons, Kresse and the Cougars earned trips to the NIT and advanced to the Second Round in 1996 with a win against Tennessee in Knoxville. 

Kresse and the Cougars followed the following season with a 75-66 victory against Maryland in the NCAA Tournament First Round as a No. 12 seed, marking the league's second-ever March Madness triumph. The Cougars finished the year with a 29-3 record led by the dangerous tandem of Thaddeous Delaney and Anthony Johnson who claimed Player of the Year status in 1996 & 1997, respectively. In 1998, Kresse guided Charleston to its fifth-straight league regular season with a 14-2 record as the Cougars advanced to their second-straight NCAA Tournament after claiming the conference tournament crown which would be College of Charleston's final season in the ASUN.

Kresse retired from coaching in 2002 as he amassed a 560-143 (.797) record over 23 seasons as his winning percentage is fifth all-time trailing legendary coaches John Wooden, Adolph Rupp and Clair Bee and Mark Few. Prior to joining the ASUN, College of Charleston won the 1983 NAIA National Championship with a 33-5 record. A coaching legend, Kresse never record a losing record on the sidelines and totaled 17 20-win seasons and four 30-win campaigns. He was inducted into the College Basketball Hall of Fame in 2018 alongside Houston's Otis Birdsong, Arizona's Sean Elliott, Arkansas' Sidney Moncrief, North Carolina's Sam Perkins, Morgan State's Marvin Webster and USC's Paul Westphal and former Oregon Tech coach Danny Miles.